Substitute Teaching License
(Updated August 18, 2016)
- Must hold a bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited institution of higher education.
- Valid for substitute teaching in all grades of the public schools, prekindergarten through grade 12.
*Note: Substitute licenses are valid for 5 years, and may be renewed if the individual passes an approved Illinois test of basic skills. An individual who has passed an IL test of basic skills will not be required to retake the test for subsequent renewals.
Important to note:
- Individuals who hold a lapsed professional educator license (PEL) and owed professional development are not eligible to obtain a substitute teaching license. The PEL must be reinstated. If your PEL is lapsed and you do not owe professional development, you may obtain a substitute teaching license.
- Individuals who have had their PEL or ELS suspended or revoked and have not met the renewal requirements are not eligible to obtain a new substitute teaching license.
- Individuals who hold a license indicative of a bachelor’s degree (such as a professional educator license) are able to substitute teach on that license. A substitute teaching license is not required by the state. Please check with your employer to see if you need to obtain a substitute teaching license.
Refer to our FAQ document for more information.
If I hold a valid professional educator license or educator license with stipulations, am I qualified to be a substitute teacher?
- If you hold a valid professional educator license or educator license with stipulations that required a bachelor’s degree for issuance, you are qualified to be a substitute teacher. You do not need to hold a substitute teaching license.
To make application:
- Submit an application online in the Educator Licensure Information System (ELIS).
- A $100 fee will be assessed electronically when the application is submitted (please have a credit card available).
- Send an official* transcript showing an awarded bachelor’s degree to the following address:
Illinois State Board of Education
100 N. 1st Street
Springfield, IL 62777
*Note: To be official, transcripts must be submitted in the sealed envelope from the college or university or be sent directly by the institution. Transcripts received that are not in a sealed envelope from the university or sent directly from the university will be considered unofficial and cannot be used for evaluation purposes.
More questions? Please contact your Regional Office of Education.